Tie me Up

And no, this is not an homage to Fifty Shades of Grey…:) I know my friends, and know they will mention this.  As I always say, “there’s an elephant in the room…it needs to be addressed”.  And yes, I read all 3 of those books in less than 2 weeks, as referenced in previous blog. 🙂

http://atomic-temporary-15172789.wpcomstaging.com/2012/05/10/fifty-shades-of-fabulous/

During the week at my house, it’s typically just Patrick and I, as Mer Mer is at IU, and Kevin is in San Francisco.  So, when Patrick needs to wear a tie, when they have home games for Lacrosse, and needs a bit o’help, it falls on my shoulders.  Kevin has never required help tying his tie (one of the benefits marrying a much older man 🙂 ), so I truly didn’t have much experience doing so.    I thought, perhaps others are also in my shoes, so wanted to share some of the Tie Tips I’ve found.

How to Tie a Tie

How to Tie a Half-Windsor Knot

And for those who need even more guidance, here’s a YouTube video…chosen based on # views, and for a Standard Windsor knot…which seems to be the knot of choice!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p7X7SpkkEMY

Bow Ties! – a very basic illustration on how to tie a bow tie!

How to wear a tie clip – Now that we have the windsor knot  down Pat (pun intended)…we needed to address the Tie Clip!    Patrick indicated he wanted to wear a tie clip, with his perfectly knotted tie.    I suggested he wear it on the smaller part, so as not to be seen (like Kevin does), but he said, “no Mom, it has a design, I wear it so people can see it”.  And he’s right.  Note to Kevin (sadly, he won’t see this as he is not a follower of this blog).

Some rules regarding wearing a Tie Clip

• “We see guys wearing their tie bar too high or too low all the time. The rule is simple: It goes between the third and fourth buttons of your dress shirt”.

• “It may sound obvious, but a tie bar doesn’t just clip the front end of your tie to the back-end. It fastens both ends to the placket of your shirt.”

• “Finally, never wear a tie bar that’s wider than your tie. That’s the worst! Keep things narrow.”

Tie Tacks – an ornamented pin with a receiving button or clasp that is used to attach the two parts of a necktie together or to attach a necktie to a shirt.  I’ll be brief re: these…because you have to push the pin through the tie to make it stay, I’m not a fan.  Why would one put a hole in a silk tie?  Exactly!  So, no tie tac.  This picture is of a ladybug tie tack.  Hmmm.

I’ve mentioned this before, and I’ll continue to mention this…Men – If you do not have a pink tie in your repertoire of ties, You are Missing the Style Boat!

Other Fabulous Ties

Keeping it in Proportion

Knowing how to tie a tie is one thing, knowing which knot to wear with a particular collar is another!  Our friends at J. Hilburn, have developed a helpful guide to take the mystery out of this question all men must have!  This is available in a handy pdf, which you can download right here:

http://www.jhilburn.com/styleUpdate/home/May12

Happy MANic Monday, and a very Happy 4th of July week!!

xoxo,

T.

4 comments

  1. Great tips, I’m passing this along to my college bound son who can tie a decent tie (but who couldn’t use some extra options!?) You’ll be so happy to hear…the boys were ushers at their cousin’s wedding in Yosemite this weekend, and were sent PINK ties to wear with white shirts and dark slacks. They both really liked the pink, so I can tell them they are in STYLE per TO. See you this week I hope,
    Carol

  2. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from a lot of
    the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Cheers!

Leave a comment