And What a Summer it Was!

12 Sep

a1af097355eed8eb9b58410cb038f467

It seems like just yesterday I had the entire summer ahead of me.  It was middle of May and I was waiting for Patrick’s arrival home from his first year at Miami University. To me, that was going to be the beginning of summer. So much to look forward to!  Family. Friends. Fun!  It was going to be the beginning of the Best. Summer. Ever!

img_9982

 

Now, I am looking back in the rear view mirror at Summer.  Where did summer go?  Where did my great abs in 30-days go?  Here is just a small sampling of my summer.  And what a Summer it was!!

0dfd11d6ea537047d6218deb359c5170

Several fun jaunts to the race track…We even had days which we won.  One day we were winning even though we were betting on the wrong race for three races!  #Winning #OnlyUs

img_2951

Games of Uno and Uno Attack.  Probably played over 100 games. 🙂  Truly, one of my very favorite memories of summer.  Reverse, reverse!  Skip, skip, skip to my Lou!  You had to be there.  I’m looking forward to Patrick coming home to play some more. #RockStarLife

Quick trip to Cancun – ‘Twas a quick business trip, but had fun, fun, fun.  Eat, drink and be Terry!

hello-cancun

It was a summer of Lilly Pulitzer dresses… and not just by me! Mary was on the same bandwagon.

img_0979

Fun trip to West Palm Beach, where I was treated like a Rock Star thanks to my friend, PMH!  Nothing like having a car pick you up at the airport with a bottle of Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay chilling in the car.  Fabulous way to start a fabulous weekend!

13939560_10210067122624702_3602653921955863778_n

Hanging with friends.  Old and new!

Got to meet my new style idol, India Hicks!  She is just about the coolest person ever… and in trying to remain “cool”, I  chose not to have my picture taken with her. Hindsight being 20/20… we know I’m not that cool.  Should have gotten that picture!  I want to be her when I grow up!

11257014_10206726858631778_1440470399251163802_n

Noodling around in a pool more times than I can count on one hand!! Probably one of my favorite summer activities. Enjoyed Bloody Mary’s each time.  It was 5:00 somewhere.  Or 11AM! 🙂  It’s important to note that bouncing around a pool on a noodle, does not accumulate steps on your Fitbit tracker. #WhoKnew?

pool-noodles

Cubs game with my #SoleSister.  It’s our year!!  I’m speaking of the Cubs.  It’s always Tracy and my year.  Always.

solesisters-go-and-see-the-cubs

 

Late Summer trip to San Diego

good-morning-san-diego

Always one of my favorite vacation pictures.  Morning coffee with a view.

 

vacay

Vacation on the balcony. I’ve come to realize that asking servers to take one’s picture can cause a bit of consternation with the server. #Selfie

styling-at-the-pool

Styling at the pool. #IHStyle

Awesome day of day-drinking in Laguna Beach with B and B (using initials to protect the innocent).  Nothing better, btw. Plus, I got to try out my Spanish! For the record, I don’t speak Spanish.  🙂

img_0975

One of my favorite views from one of my favorite places with four of my favorite people!  Seriously, what could be better than enjoying a Vodka/Lemonade, eating a seafood salad and looking at this view? Nothing, nothing could be better. Well maybe if the lemonade was Pink lemonade, that would have been better. 😉

The Movie Gleason.  Saw it twice in two days.  Would have made it three if it was playing near me the 3rd day. If you haven’t seen the movie, I urge you to do so.

movie_header

Got to meet Steve and Michel Gleason.  Truly one of the highlights of my summer

Team Gleason

Great, great, great summer with kids.

img_0390

!

img_0974

We were also introduced to our new obsession… The Seafood Tower at Ruth’s Chris.  Totally fabulous!  Clealry, this wasn’t our first dirty martini.  Of the summer.  Or of the night.  We were already accustomed to those.  Cheers!

img_0121

Patrick got a new car and Mer and I got manicures.  #WinWin

img_3491

This was during the James Taylor concert at Wrigley Field!  Whenever I see your smiling face. 🙂

I also went to see Adele.  Hello!  And last concert of the summer, but certainly not least, I saw Train at Ravinia.  We stood the entire concert.  The entire concert.  Best. Concert. Ever.  Three concerts. One summer.  Not too bad.

 

img_0770

And a boy says goodbye to his dog. Sad dog.  Sad mom.  Sad boy?  Not so much. 🙂

Song of the Day:  This’ll Be My Year, by Train

No more
Countin’ down the hours
No more
Wishin’ you were here
I stopped believin’,
Although Journey told me ‘don’t’
Before I call it a day,
Maybe this’ll be my year

And at the end of the day… It was the Best. Summer. Ever!  It was Not the best Bears game ever, btw.   I’m always surprised when they lose.  Always surprised.  Let’s hope there aren’t many more surprises in store for me this football season.

f33a217f3c6955931cfc3a000f13bebc

And everything will work out, just the way it’s supposed to!  For that, I am certain!

xoxo,

T.418fd13f7ea63ecfee2ade2e7f95cdc4

b5921857d0c691e0c2bbdc307739e249

1dc51f80c5b636f95978ac37f7c5ce1c

 

4 Responses to “And What a Summer it Was!”

  1. Kathy P September 12, 2016 at 9:18 am #

    Nothing like the “noodle ” and Bloodies . Great combo … Great Summer!!

  2. stewcarol September 12, 2016 at 5:26 pm #

    I love your summer. Love your attitude. Thanks for sharing. Made me smile.

  3. Stephanie September 14, 2016 at 8:02 am #

    I ❤️ this blog. In my fav 5! xo

    Sent from The s.s. iPhone

    >

  4. LC Work September 14, 2016 at 1:11 pm #

    I just adore you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

