That time you decided to Thank all 280 FaceBook Birthday Posts…Individually

25 Sep

thanks-to-all-who-posted-birthday-wishes-to-my-facebook-page-and-making-me-look-more-popular-than-i-really-am-e217d

I am very blessed to have a very supportive Facebook community.  So much so, that late on my birthday a friend texted me and asked if I checked out all the FB birthday posts.  Truthfully, I had not… I saw a few, but “life” got in the way and I hadn’t been on to read them all.  My friend, “You have hundreds of birthday greetings.  Literally, hundreds.  I know because someone said you and 262 people wished TOB a happy birthday.  If you ever doubted how much you are loved, doubt no more”.  I have paraphrased this a bit, since I posted something similar the day after my birthday along with this card that I received, and I don’t want to lose any readers because they’ve read this twice…#AimingToPlease #KnowYourAudience

born to be fabulous

They said that Facebook doesn’t lie, and proves I’m “well-loved”.  I said, yes, Facebook does lie. DUH…but all the birthday messages truly did warm my heart and brighten my day and make me happy!  And that’s when I decided that I would not do a blanket post  “Thank you for all the birthday messages” …I decided to Like and Comment on each and every one. 280 of them, but who’s counting?   At the time, it seemed like a good idea, but then when I started commenting back on each post, it was like a little trip down memory lane, and I realized it was a Great idea.   I tried to write something that would make the person smile and let them know that I either read their Facebook posts, or responded in a way that was a true response to their birthday wish.  I know I’m not the only person to ever do this, but if you haven’t taken the time to personally Thank each person who did or said something nice to you, or posted something kind on your Facebook wall, I highly recommend it.  It’s like when they say it’s better to Give than to Receive…Well it sure was terrific Receiving those birthday messages, but I have to say I may have enjoyed responding to them, even More!

6493a26745a67e8147494e1beed10db8

“Happiest of Days”… I love that message and shall pirate as my own!  Thanks Mary G!

“Can we all just come over later for a huge birthday party, with champagne, snacks and shenanigans? Maybe some Monday night football too? Hey dear friend, you have a special day and year. You are loved (is adored too strong a word?) by many and I for one miss you dearly. But today is about YOU! Sparkle, sparkle! Happy Birthday”!  Leave it to Carol S. to make a birthday statement with a Bang!  Love, love, love you Carol!!

“Happy Birthday to a great friend”… I never feel I’m as good of a friend as people are to me…so these posts really made me feel better about myself as a friend. 🙂

12042902_10207360080945544_200183133778696939_n

This card came with the greeting from LSU Leslie, “You make everything wonderful”.   How can you not love that girl?!

12027640_1031699193509014_8420662366056355021_n

This Bitmoji came from Carolyn…and a text that said, “Happy birthday to my amazing friend.  I am a better person because of you”.  Sometimes a message will literally take your breath away…even if it’s not true…but I’m hoping she was serious.

I celebrate your birthday in my heart and remember times past. You are the Belle of Chicago. From my dear friend, Ann.

c11a6a5faa2f4659a10ab7752dc16c45

I loved every fun little emoji.  Every reference to “I know you will celebrate in style”.  “Enjoy this beautiful day”…because it was one of the most beautiful days, ever!  “Happy Birthday!  I will bring you something strong to drink, soon”.  And the many Cheers, Martini and Wine references.  It would appear my Facebook friends know a little about me and my love of a festive libation.

263295e1a5b90188d2aaf24bb0df56fe

Then I received a card with a letter inside.  Not a Facebook post, but a card in the mail:   I have always admired you for your zest, your style, your kindness and your joie de vivre.  JOIE DE VIVRE…The world needs more of the use of this phrase!

Made my day!  And I was having a pretty great day!  Thank you, Shelagh!

12011234_10153666384301532_5922641830651004758_n

And the piece de resistance was receiving this picture from my #SoleSister of Kyle Chandler… 🙂 🙂 🙂  Which brings this post back full circle.  Yes, I will land this plane.  I was watching the Emmy Awards Sunday night (long, boring, drawn out Emmy’s) and when Jon Hamm won for his portrayal of Don Draper in Mad Men, beating out Kyle Chandler in Bloodline, Andy Samberg, the host said, “I was pulling for Chandler.  Dig that Dude”!  Me too… but I digress.

I remembered a few things I read about Kyle Chandler and the recurring theme was, “who doesn’t like Kyle Chandler”?  Everyone likes him.  Everyone!  And I thought, I used to be likable.  I used to be nice.  I used to be funny…I was doubting my Likability… Seriously.  Even mentioned it to a group of friends the next day, and quite frankly, they didn’t put my fears to rest.  Not one of them.  And I thought perhaps I’ve peaked?  Maybe I’m just not that nice anymore? Maybe I’m not a sweet person.  I mean, Kyle Chandler should be like looking in the personality mirror! Do I have an edge?  Where’s my wit?  Where’s my sense of humor?  Ok, I still have my sense of humor…but have I turned “dark”?  Am I still funny and nice?

either-facebook-changed-its-algorithm-again-or-im-not-as-funny-as-i-thought-9d2db

And then I read all those Facebook birthday messages and I found my wit.  I found my sense of humor.  I found the nice girl I’ve always been.  And the reason I found these things, if that’s what I was reading about myself from others.  People were saying very nice things about me and to me.  Maybe I’m not sweet, nice and funny…all of the time!  But, by golly, I think I can pull it off, sometimes! I’m not saying this in a Sally Field way, “they like me, they really like me”…but I may have been being a bit harsh on myself. And I mean, Facebook doesn’t lie. 😉  Best. Birthday. Ever!

Song of the Day:  Material Girl, by Madonna.  And not because I, nor my lovely daughter is Materialistic…but because I heard this dong this week and for the Life of me, cannot get it out of my head!

Some boys try and some boys lie but
I don’t let them play
Only boys that save their pennies
Make my rainy day, ’cause they are

Living in a material world
And I am a material girl
You know that we are living in a material world
And I am a material girl

 

And who is Fabulous and 24 Today? Meredith!  Happy, Happy Birthday to my smart, sweet, lovely, caring, helpful, fashionista daughter!  Love you and looking forward to celebrating with a Filthy Dirty Martini!

869

1503963_2138323374410_1864158124_n (1)

 

And guess who’s coming home to help her celebrate?  None other than our favorite college boy…and girl!

11892276_926044284134036_1472291162242826457_n

 

Patrick Grad Party 024

Oh yeah…and we will be hob-knobbing with family, friends and out-of-towners and perhaps do a bit of Walking!  …Yup…Best. Weekend. Ever!

Life is short.  Make it count.

Peace out!

xoxo,

T.

12036656_10155927638275012_1587757183027720682_n

11892106_10153217278553227_811834091490523830_n

12049677_10206406197108103_3770128336590536253_n

 

 

3 Responses to “That time you decided to Thank all 280 FaceBook Birthday Posts…Individually”

  1. Carol S. September 25, 2015 at 8:22 am #

    We DO like you! Very fun and thoughtful post, and great suggestion to give a response to every birthday greeting. Enjoy your weekend with family!!

  2. LAP September 25, 2015 at 4:21 pm #

    Life IS short so make the best of it every single day . . . 280, eh? I’ve made it a practice to Like and Comment on all my Bday wishes, too, for several years now. It does take time, and it does take you down Memory Lane . . . but it IS worth it, isn’t it . . . xoxo, TOB!

  3. Marie September 25, 2015 at 4:48 pm #

    Not only haven’t you peaked, I don’t think you even hit your prime yet! Your posts always bring a smile to my day, thank you for your Joie de Vivre! Happy birthday, Marie

Leave a Reply

