And there comes a time…

21 Aug

8bc9d70125d074273da7226b41bedcd4

And there comes a time when I have to say goodbye to my little boy and leave him at college.  This is one of those milestones in a child’s life…and for the parent, in this instance Me, I’m happy to say that I’m on the “other side”, of this milestone that has been looming over my head all summer. Oh, who am I kidding?   It’s been looming over me for 18 years.  🙂

IMG_7682

What does a boy pack for college?  Aside from his mother’s heart?  Lot’s of Vineyard Vines clothes!  He’s a very savvy packer. 🙂

IMG_7692

A boy saying goodbye to his puppy…and his Mom, crying while taking the picture. 😦

FullSizeRender

And we’re off!

IMG_7726

Just hanging loose in his dorm.  Posing for his mom.  😉

9e7f43358a8832c0835f7f3855dc3c3f

IMG_7717

Those are not both Patrick’s closets.  Though they certainly could be.  Both Patrick and his roommate John, have the exact same taste in clothes.  A matching pair of salmon-colored trousers will attest to that.

1daa0168da78dea15e3b1efec23d106b

IMG_7731

Patrick and his roommate John.  Day one of the next four years of his life at Miami University!

Song of the Day:  Forever Young, by Rod Stewart

And when you finally fly away
I’ll be hoping that I served you well
For all the wisdom of a lifetime
No one can ever tell

But whatever road you choose
I’m right behind you, win or lose
Forever Young, Forever Young

Patrick, I love you.  Best of luck to you honey.  I miss you so much, it hurts.  But I am so excited for this next chapter of your life.

Love you!

xoxo,

Mom

f9d92278bfb30da744a457f37d0f16ee

11887903_10153677668163984_6624938905692870016_n

4 Responses to “And there comes a time…”

  1. stewcarol August 21, 2015 at 8:19 am #

    There you go again, getting me choked up but then making me laugh by the end of your blog. My favorite part is the quote…it would be worse if they didn’t leave home! That’s the thing that keeps me going when letting them stretch and grow. And if they someday multiply just think how much more happy they will make me! Wishing I could visit you and make you laugh with me today! Cheers to you on this victorious day. (that closet! nice! must buy son salmon trousers apparently.)

  2. Jane August 21, 2015 at 11:22 am #

    Great blog Terry…sniff sniff 😦 Great pics too!!! Great Rod Stewart song…one of my favorites. You hit the nail on the head with this blog and I am going through all the same emotions that you are. Lots of tears and lots of Kleenex. XXOO

  3. marie August 22, 2015 at 3:44 pm #

    he’s going to college, with friends, counselors a credit card and cell phone, not Afghanistan, buck up

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buck Up | DRESSED TO A T - September 4, 2015

    […] with Mer, Zack and Bruce, when I received an email that there was a Pending  comment on my blog And there comes a time about dropping Patrick off at school. All comments are Pending, until I approve them. […]

Leave a Reply

