Fifty Shades of Spring Break and Up with Peeps!

2 Apr

7d3a48eca6391388ac4b7bb6365abd4f

Still recovering from, May I say, Have Passport… Will Travel!  In other words, Fifty Shades of Spring Break!

passport

Pardon the sun, but I was leaving and it was as sunny in Chicago as it was when we arrived in Mexico.  I learned quite a bit from my first International trip.  But that’s another blog.  A girl and her passport.  One of my favorite lines from spring break (and there were lots of them) came from Dave, when we were discussing how you really learn quite a bit about people when traveling with them (and much of it good, btw), and he said,

“I actually like you More after travelling with you”.  Smart man. It may have been the pool drinks talking, or the fact that I was lounge chair buddies with his wife, but I’ll take it.  Not only am I good at parties, but I’m fun to travel with.  Cheers! 🙂

2nd best line, not from my spring break, but it totally fits, thanks to Fun Bob:

“All inclusive resort is like a Cruise on land”.  True that.

50 shades of spring break

50 Shades of the Seniors on Spring Break, in honor of Johny B’s 50th.

IMG_6284

Me and a few of my favorites before the waters got rough.  Really rough. #StockInDramamine

TOB POB Spring Break 2015

Me and my boy. 🙂  This is called crazy wind-blown locks.

c73633b47320f5420ddd8a0652e4b7c2

 

Yes, I do believe it does.  Or at least the pool lounge chair does. 😉

So, because of my sensitive stomach and apparent intolerance to international massages and Mexican sun, #SevereDehydration, I am still recovering from my vacation.  As I Desperately need a vacation from my vacation, so am  reposting one of my favorite blogs about Peeps.  Yes, those nasty sugary-y “treats” that some people like (Cathy!) and some of us, dislike…But, it’s not Easter unless there are Peeps in the baskets.  Pink for Meredith and Blue for Patrick.

Hip, Hip, Hooray!  The long-awaited for and anticipated blog…Up with Peeps!!

Some people have, in my opinion, an unhealthy obsession with PeepsPeeps are marshmallow candies, sold in the United States and Canada, that are shaped into chicks, bunnies, and other animals (such as ducks). There are also different shapes used for various holidays. Peeps are used primarily to fill Easter baskets, though recent ad campaigns tout the candy as “Peeps – Always in Season”, as Peeps has since expanded to include Halloween, Christmas and Valentine’s Day. They are made from marshmallow, corn syrup, gelatin, and carnauba wax. (Wikipedia).

I have to admit, I have NEVER eaten a Peep.  Never.  The thought of that much sugar coming anywhere near my teeth, gives me the Heeby Jeeby’s.  However, with Easter upon us…Peeps are Everywhere.  And they’re not just for Easter baskets anymore.  Instead of a long-winded blog, I thought I’d let a few pics tell the story. 🙂

The Ultimate Peep Show

Exhausting…I know.  They do look harmless, don’t they? And to think people  spend countless hours making these…and notice how many, many of these ideas are Non-Edible.  What does that tell you?  Peeps…Pleasing to the eye, with their lovely yellow, blue and pink colors…but it’s Not necessarily a taste that the masses would like crossing their lips. But they sure are lovely to look at. 🙂  The Easter Bunny has provided Meredith and Patrick with Peeps every year for Easter, and I can tell you that NEVER have they been eaten.  But, I can also predict Peeps are here to stay, and Meredith and Patrick will also be the lucky recipients of More Peeps in their Easter Baskets!

And, in case you cannot make it to Geja’s in Chicago (one of my all-time favorite restaurants in Chicago, which is a Fondue restaurant where Kevin and I celebrated many anniversaries), you can do this at home:

Peeps Trivia…How long is the standard shelf life for Peeps?  2 years!  And each Peep is only 32 calories!  Wow.

Honestly…these are killing me.  Peeps…the other white meat! 🙂

And a Happy Easter Birthday to my very best friend, Lora!!  Which reminds me of a very snappy retort of hers.  A few years back I asked her, “I wonder what I should get the kids for Easter”…and as only she can get away with, she responded… “How about a little disappointment”?   I love her…and I do believe she was just kidding.  And I believe the message has been received!

 

Song of the Day:  Uptown Funk, by Bruno Mars.  For the sole reason I Cannot get that song out of my head!

This hit, that ice cold
Michelle Pfeiffer, that white gold
This one for them hood girls
Them good girls straight masterpieces
Stylin’, whilen, livin’ it up in the city
Got Chucks on with Saint Laurent
Got kiss myself, I’m so pretty

62781ecc1475cbe5aed628d15b4dcc8dTomorrow there will be a short blog about Easter Basket ideas, just in case you are still searching for ideas.  It’s a Good Friday to post a blog about Easter Baskets!

My new Netflix obsession:  Bloodline.  Been through 7 episodes and love, love, love it.  Also, if you haven’t seen Cinderella, go see it this weekend.  I took my Cinderella to see it.  Cinderella and Joel Gott Chardonnay.  Best. Movie Experience. Ever!

xoxo,

T.

In case you can’t wait for tomorrow, you may check out last year’s Easter blog, An Eggcellent Easter Blog, for Everything Easter!

 

One Response to “Fifty Shades of Spring Break and Up with Peeps!”

  1. LAP April 5, 2015 at 6:33 am #

    Fun with Peeps . . . microwave at 15 second intervals and watch them e-x-p-a-n-d !!!! Fun (and doesn’t mess up the microwave)! They they taste like toasted marshmellows . . . Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

