Taking a Break…but I give you, Pinning a Boutonniere

16 May

MjAxMy0zZjJjZjk3YTZiMjBiODM0

 

I promised a blog about Prom today…but I’m going to do a Post-Prom blog on Monday!  Chock full of pictures and my take on Promposals.  Best. Monday. Ever!

 

f82ca29d76c329d12ada7f2f460b6efc

And…I am going to do just this…Taking a mini break!

But, just in case you need to know more about pinning a boutonniere, here is a reprint of my post from a year ago, but edited this post angled towards Homecoming and making  it about Prom…though I’m keeping one of the Homecoming ecards, because it still makes me snort! #ItsMyBlogAndIWillDoWhatIWant

 

In honor of Barrington’s  Prom this weekend, I thought I would Report  “How to Pin a Boutonniere…or “Bout” as I’ve come to hear they’re referred to as, or says Jim Fabbrini, so I’ll go with that.  Plus,  it’s best not to stab your date in the heart…and don’t ask how I know that. 🙂

 

Center the boutonniere on the gentleman’s left lapel so both are parallel. Hold boutonniere with left hand and pin with right hand.
(1) Gather fabric of lapel and push-pin through lapel and through stem of boutonniere. Go through two layers of fabric, the lapel and the jacket front. That is the secret for pinning the boutonniere securely. Illustration shows pin on the underside of the jacket front.
(2)
Weave the pin from the inside of the jacket out to the lapel. For safety, tuck the tip of the pin into the fabric of the lapel. Notice in the illustration, only the pearl end of the pin is visible from the front.
(3) This gives a sophisticated, finished look.   And, with the pin tip hidden, you won’t hurt someone when you hug them.  #Brilliant!
Now all the lovely young ladies, pinning a “bout” on their gentleman callers, will know how to properly handle this task, without stabbing them in the heart!   (My advice is to Save that for later, girls). 🙂  
THE ANATOMY OF A PROM CLUTCH
anatomy of a prom clutchWhat I find interesting about this Prom Clutch, is there is no money here.  If this were my daughter’s clutch, I’d slip in a $20.  But that’s just me!
Song of the Day:  High on You, by Survivor

 

Have a great weekend, and Make Good Choices.  🙂 Meredith is home, and I am embarking on the Best. Summer. Ever!!

xoxo,
T.
MjAxNC1kMGEwMDNiN2Y0ODk3OTk1_5365973d3d2eb
MjAxMi02NDQzZGM0NTgyYmI5NTFk
1331906115382_4895149 10325768_815233471839472_3603557666888342123_n
One Response to “Taking a Break…but I give you, Pinning a Boutonniere”

  1. LAP May 19, 2014 at 10:02 pm #

    No money in that prom clutch . . . and no credit card ‘just in case’ and no house keys?? I don’t get it . . .

Leave a Reply

