Things I know…

7 Mar

c148b8b07ee25b6fe8ab47c8b612879e

At least I have wonderful taste in music. 🙂

Things I knowthis is a compilation of things I’ve been jotting down in my iPhone.  This has been an ongoing list for several years, for as long as I’ve had my 2 iPhone’s.   I think I’m going to do this quarterly, because I’m certain I know more than this. 😉

Things I know…my shortest blog, to date. 🙂

Life is not always fair.  You need to get over it.

Never ever book a flight with a 30-minute connection.  Especially through LAX.

An X-press spa 30-minute foot rub at an airport is the best way to end a trip.

Good people do bad things.  Not speaking of myself.

Bad people do good things.  Again, not speaking of myself.

Nothing gives me more happiness than seeing my kids. Nothing…oh, and Murphy, of course.

Being a parent is the world’s greatest privilege.  Don’t abuse it.

You won’t know unless you ask.

You won’t know unless you try.

Do not hold a grudge.  The person you are holding it against, has long moved on.

If you are given the chance to bring joy into someone’s life, or brighten their day, do it.

I have way too many clothes …though I always want more. Not sure why that is?

Wearing high heels, excessively, ruins your feet.  I’m speaking from experience.

There is never a good reason to be nasty or rude.  Never.

Always try to avoid drama.  It brings you down.  And ain’t nobody got time for that!

It’s best to stay out of things that are not your business.

Four days in Vegas is 2 too many

Coffee, Chardonnay, water…in that order.  Of course a filthy dirty martini, at times, would top that list.

Drinking coffee can stain your teeth.  Stick with water or chardonnay. 🙂

Laughing  till you cry…one of the best things ever.  I love the people who make me do that, btw.  You know who you are.

Some people you will never get used to saying goodbye to.

I will cry every time Meredith goes back to school.

I couldn’t get by without family and friends.

I have more friends than I deserve.  I am so lucky.

Getting lost in a  book is like going on a mini vacation.  I take mini vacations every week.

Loving what you do is the very best way to make a living.  I am doing, just that.

There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t desperately miss my parents.

There is no better way to fall asleep then replaying over and over, in your head, happy memories.  Who needs to count sheep?

It’s okay to make a mistake.

It’s not okay to keep making that same mistake over and over again.

Always try and learn from your mistakes.

In every life, a little rain must fall. Storms however, are they really necessary?

Tequila , or most hard liquor, quite frankly, is Not my friend.

The older you get, the longer it takes to bounce back after a night out…especially with these “so-called-friends”.

Use it or risk losing it.  I’m speaking of your mind.

You were given 2 ears and 1 mouth, to listen twice as much as we speak.  This, for me, is a work in progress.

Not everyone will like you.

I lose sleep, thinking I’ve hurt someone.

For every alcoholic beverage you enjoy, drink a glass of water.   Especially for the alcoholic beverage you most enjoy.  Will help you enjoy the next day.

If you do not take care of your body, how do you expect it to take care of you?  I wish I knew this earlier in life.

I cannot come across the following movies:  Brian’s Song; Rudy; You’ve Got Mail; Runaway Bride; Jerry Maguire; or Silver Linings Playbook…and not watch the movie in its’ entirety…regardless of what plans I may have.

It’s always best to put some effort into your appearance.  You never know who you will run into.

I always wake up thinking I should be a better person.  And every day I try.  Sometimes I fail.

Mice and rodents were put on earth to terrorize me.  Truly.

I would Rock as an NFL sideline reporter.  Broken record, I know.

I Will write my screenplay this year.  Cannot wait!

Men and women can be friends.  Just friends. I can provide references.  Hundreds of them, quite frankly.

There is nothing wrong with admitting your mistakes. Being able to do so is an admirable quality.

Saying you’re sorry, and meaning it, can mend many wounds.

If I could wake up and look at the ocean everyday, that would be like winning the lottery to me.

I get more enjoyment out of writing my blog than anyone could possibly get out of reading it.

Ann Curry got shafted. I didn’t care for her in that anchor role, but she still got shafted.

I’m lousy at Instagram.  Meredith calls me the “Liza Minnelli of Instagram”.  I’m okay with that.  I have my blog. 🙂

Ellen Degeneres proves you can be funny, and not mean.  The Liza Minnelli, “nice job sir” joke, not withstanding.  I did, find it hilarious.

Humility over arrogance

Self-deprecation over conceit

Humor over good looks

Charm over beauty

The weather this winter, is really uncalled for.  We’ve really made someone angry.

You never stop learning.

Always follow your gut.

Always follow your heart.

If there is ice on the ground, I will fall.

If there is no ice on the ground, I still may fall.

There’s more to life than increasing its speed (Ghandi)

There’s nothing more painful than being accused of something you did not do.

It may be a bad day…It’s never a bad life.

Jay Cutler still needs a life coach.  And I’m ready and available for the challenge.

Never  give up on your dreams.  Even miracles take a little time.

The sun will come out tomorrow.

I am fairly certain that given a cape and a tiara, I could save the world…and I honest to goodness believe that!

01aaa49085f5b6a8617675f98f04543de840793297

Song of the Day:  Classical Gas by Mason Williams.  Yet another song from the American Hustle soundtrack.

Guess I know more than I thought…this blog ended up being longer than I envisioned.

Peace out.

xoxo,

T.

42db1b8c911cf8c73e06ce80ad919f97

1b53e12fdb31be3b5c732e3052708975

9306743c64ef673b58f98fb2edcabba0

febe45ff7dcae4cb8c993e69e3c2a586

eef93547e8b77c3c712bcf478bec1d0d

ea2b03d54aebcf314799ad37c77cedec (1)

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 Responses to “Things I know…”

  1. Beth Harris March 7, 2014 at 8:30 am #

    Great blog my sweet funny friend! I needed this one:) XO

  2. Carol S. March 7, 2014 at 11:48 am #

    I knew you knew a thing or two (or forty!) And that first someecard is PERFECTION for me. Have a wonderful weekend, TGIF!!

  3. Kim Johnson March 7, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

    Brilliant blog yet again Ms. Terry!! Another favorite I remember you telling me…the only time you should ever look back, is to see how far you’ve come! I must say Jay is missing out, you are the best coach ever!

  4. Mark March 7, 2014 at 2:34 pm #

    I agree with all of them…ESPECIALLY “There’s nothing more painful than being accused of something you did not do.”
    There are some people in this world that can take that way too far, and everyone loses.

  5. LAP March 7, 2014 at 3:12 pm #

    Good commentary, food for thought . . . and just downright common sense. Thanks, T! (oh, apparently commentary is being posted on FB this week for all to see. I’ll abstain) . . .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m going back to college… | DRESSED TO A T - April 22, 2014

    […] Related Posts: Things I know […]

  2. It’s All About Me…or at least this blog is. :) | DRESSED TO A T - June 6, 2014

    […] Related Posts:  https://dressedtoat.wordpress.com/2014/03/07/things-i-know/ […]

  3. 30 Life Lessons…from 2 Rock Star Grandmothers! | DRESSED TO A T - June 18, 2014

    […] https://dressedtoat.wordpress.com/2014/03/07/things-i-know/ […]

  4. Things Every Man Should Know… | DRESSED TO A T - November 3, 2014

    […] the highest read blogs.  That, and It’s All About Me or Stylish Things to Know or Things I Know.  Perhaps I’ll post more MANic Monday topics.  And perhaps I’ll post in the morning […]

  5. 45 Life Lessons Written by a 90-year old…and my Father’s Day Gift Pick | DRESSED TO A T - June 19, 2015

    […] There are so many of these “life lessons” that seem to come across Twitter, Facebook, Instagram.  This one, which says is written by a 90-year old woman, seems to be a nice compilation of many things we’ve seen and heard, but it is Right On.  I’m not 100% certain this is written by a 90-year old, but the lessons are good nevertheless.  Like my previous post Things I know. […]

Leave a Reply

