Will you be my Valentine?

10 Feb

Oh Joy!   It seems like just yesterday I was blogging, “Loves me, loves me not”,   and yet, here it is again… Valentine’s Day!  Swell!  I cannot tell you how many people have been commenting how they’re most definitely Not a fan of Valentine’s Day…however… if you are in a relationship, are a parent, a child, a friend, a student, etc…You just may want to change your tune and think of ways to remember this “special day”.  Now personally,  I’m not a big fan of chocolate and sweets (yeah I know, I hear that’s strange) and think buying roses when the cost is $150 is throwing money out the window…but a few thoughtful words and kind gestures and small heartfelt gifts can go a long way.  You don’t have to spend a lot of $$$ to show someone you care and appreciate them…of course, you can also spend a lot of $$$ to show someone you care , but Not Necessary!  Here are some ideas that won’t break the bank…and for Kevin O’Brien, I’ve listed some items at the end that will break the bank!  Just Kidding! 🙂

VINTAGE VALENTINE – you can print these out onto heavy stock paper, and write your sweet nothings on the back.

WRITE A LOVE LETTER!

BLOW ME A KISS – how cute is this?!

ALL ABOUT  YOU BASKET – this one is a tad dorky, but you catch the drift.

CANDY (for those who like sweets)

Make your own “Candy Bar”

HOME MADE GOODIES

Cupcakes…which I love, btw, and there is NOTHING cuter than High Heel Cupcakes!  One word…Fabulous!

HOMEMADE TILE PICTURE FRAME (or store bought frame)

Great present idea. Buy a rough surfaced tile from Lowe’s (less than a dollar) and mod podge pretty scrapbook paper on it. Then mod podge picture over that. Let dry and wrap with a pretty bow. Easy and cheap! You can also include a small stand to set the tile on.

 

http://www.defrumpme.com/2011/12/photo-tile-fun-christmas-gift.html?m=1

 

GO ON A VALENTINE’S DAY PICNIC (Weather permitting of course)

THROW A VALENTINE’S DAY TEA PARTY

If you don’t have the time to make some of the items I just mentioned, you most definitely can buy some very nice things. You can see I’m going with a Basically PINK theme here, but clearly you can go with Red or whatever color suits you or your loved one!

FLOWERS – Doesn’t have to be the standard dozen red roses…plus they are Way too expensive this time of year!

FANNY WANG PINK HEADPHONES 

PINK TIE

PINK POLO / SHIRT

PINK RAY BANS

TECHIE IDEAS

PINK BOXERS

Pink Scarf/Shawl

Pink Watch – I received this from Kevin a few years back, and wear it year round.

PINK CAR…Not just for Mary Kay Cosmetics Employees anymore!  And, no, Kevin did Not buy this for me.  And I’m kidding about a Pink car and this pink Bentley, btw…even I have my limits!

Pink Sapphires!

Try out this Link for 50 Inexpensive Date ideas!  Some examples:  Make your own fondue; Have a coupon date; Have a movie or TV marathon; Pick a Themed night…Mexican; Italian; French, etc…

http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2012/01/50-fun-and-cheap-date-ideas.html

Send an ecard, http://www.someecards.com, when you care enough to send the very snarkiest best! 🙂

Happy Valentine’s Day!!

xoxo,

T.

Related Posts:  https://dressedtoat.wordpress.com/2011/02/11/loves-me-loves-me-not/

6 Responses to “Will you be my Valentine?”

  1. Carol S. February 10, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    LOVE it. Very fun, putting me in the mood. Plus, TGIF doesn’t hurt. Yes, we can still keep the romance and sweetness in Valentine’s Day, thanks for the inspiration. Getting off my couch now to hang my hearts on the front door. Where did January go???

  2. LAP February 10, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Love, Love, LOVE the cupcakes . . . how clever! Too cute to eat (but somehow I’d manage I’m sure!) I’m remembering my standard “Hallmark Holiday” present for my valentine — gummy cinnamon bears in a Dollar Store heart-shaped box. Two bucks total and always appreciated. Can’t beat that with a stick!

  3. Lisa February 11, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Happy “V” Day to one and all! You are quite correct, T, sharing a simple wish with your loved ones and friends can make all the difference for a special valentine’s day. I know I do it because it makes me happy and I hope the recipients feel happy too! 🙂

  4. Kimjo February 11, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Love the tie! Seeking a man to hang it on! Lol…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All you need is Love! | DRESSED TO A T - February 13, 2014

    […] Will you be my Valentine? […]

  2. He loves me…yeah, yeah, yeah | DRESSED TO A T - February 13, 2015

    […] Will you be my Valentine […]

Leave a Reply

