Pinterest…the new Black!

3 Feb

Up until 10 weeks ago, I had No idea what Pinterest actually was.  Of course I had heard of it, basically from friends on Facebook who followed it, and I saw random posts regarding it, but didn’t know what Pinterest was…I mistakenly thought it was a Crafters website (and I’m not crafty…Tricky, yes.  Crafty, no.)…And, how wrong I was!…I almost look longingly on the days BP (Before Pinterest) because I would actually read a book or magazine, catch up on missed TV shows, go for a walk or use the elliptical or a myriad of other ways in which to occupy my “free time”…However, now that time is occupied with Pinterest!  And I love every minute of it.

Pinterest is an online pinboard to organize and share your inspirations! Pin your favorite images and videos from anywhere. Discover new things hand-picked by people who share your interests.
But let me tell you…Pinterest is so much more!  And to quote Betty White “a total waste of time” and I am here to declare, I am Obsessed!  And if you think this is only a “fad”, someecards has tons of cards regarding Pinterest…I mean, it’s Arrived!  Everyday more and more of my friends are appearing on it…and I know they are there, because I get notification they are following my “pins”.
Those who know me know I like to go to bed at 9 (keep your snarky thoughts to yourself please)…but if I’m perusing Pinterest on my iPad, I’ve been known to stay up till 1:30AM…and That tells you how addicting Pinterest is.  It’s an “Idea Site” of everything you can imagine.  You see things you like and you “pin” them onto your Board.  These pins typically can direct you back to a website where you can further soak up the knowledge of things you find fabulous.  I fEnd Fashion inspiration; Decorating Ideas; Gift Ideas; Fitness and Health tips; Fabulously delicious recipes, Humor, Wedding and Entertaining and much, much more!  Enough of  trying to describe what it is…I shall let these pictures tell the story of Pinterest!   Here is a sampling of things I’ve Pinned that gets my mind racing!
DRESSED TO A T
This above Photo was featured in the Spring 2012 blog, and I found the Picture on Pinterest…and this outfit will be my uniform for Spring
HOUSE BEAUTIFUL
BREAKFAST AT TIFFANY’S
I printed this picture onto 8×10 heavy stock paper, framed it and put it in my back Powder Room, which I’ve redone in a Breakfast at Tiffany’s theme.
EAT, DRINK AND BE TERRY
These Kale Chips are the Best Snack…and almost No Calories.  Clean Kale, toss with Olive Oil, Sea Salt and Pepper, and bake until crisp at 375 for 15-18 mins.
IT’S ALL ABOUT ME
GIFT IDEAS
ENTERTAINING IDEAS (BIG AND SMALL)
Truly, the only way to understand Pinterest is to explore it and sample it for yourself.  Check it out at http://www.Pinterest.com.  You can browse and not be a “member”…if you want to Pin things from websites (like something from my blog perhaps), you need to sign up.  There is a waiting list, unless you are referred by a friend.  If you are reading this blog, you are immediately my friend, so email me, or comment, and I’ll invite you and you get confirmed immediately.
Happy Pinning!
Coming next week…Will you be my Valentine?!
Go Patriots!!
xoxo,
T.
 Follow Me on Pinterest button

6 Responses to “Pinterest…the new Black!”

  1. C February 3, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    Interesting! I have been wondering what it is. Weird thing is that I have gotten emails saying people are following ME on Pinterest and I am not even on it. What is that about?

    Have you checked out Houzz yet? That is my new addiction. Wonderful site for anyone thinking of doing a home decorating project.

  2. The Boss February 3, 2012 at 6:58 am #

    I’m so stealing the wine bottle in shirt sleeves idea….OK , I’ll probably never actually get around to it – but how clever!

  3. instantimpression February 3, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    LOVE LOVE the blog and am so addicted to Pinterest – a wonderful distraction for 5-10 minutes a day. The phone app makes it nice to check while getting your hair done, waiting at an appointment, etc. Love the recipe section and pinning different hair colors, styles that I kind of like – then I have them in one place that my stylist can see.

  4. Dressed to a T February 3, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Hi – go to http://www.pinterest.com you had an “r” after the p…I will also send you an invite from Pinterest to the email you’ve used here. Thanks for reaching out.
    Terry

  5. Louise February 5, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Interesting, informative info as always, Miss TOB — like the football eggs, and LOVE the cuffed winesleeve (if only I sewed!) . . . but .. … go Giants!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pinterest…My Newest Not So Secret Addiction « Adventures in Farmgirl Chic - February 4, 2012

    […] Pinterest…the new Black! (dressedtoat.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

