The nicest thing ever said to me…:)

26 Aug

While at brunch with some friends, we were discussing my theory that Jay Cutler needs a life coach (which is my highest rated blog, btw), and to briefly recap, my friend Cinda said that in order to be a life coach, you really need to have your life in order.  I indicated I wasn’t offering to be Jay’s life coach, just that he needed one.  But truth be told, I don’t think I’d be half bad at it.  And, no I don’t think my life is perfect, but I do have to say, I know how to learn by my mistakes (not a future blog).

So …Cinda and Dave were discussing life, college and choices with Meredith, and she said, “I don’t need a life coach.  I go to my Mom …she  helps me out with everything!”.  Who would have thought the nicest thing ever said to me would have come from my daughter?

And that is what constitutes a good day…and a very happy Mom.  🙂

This week we brought Mer Mer back Indiana University to start her sophomore year.  (I’m not sure who these people are who said that dropping off your kids at college, gets easier each year.  Take it from me, it doesn’t.  At all.)  Perhaps I’ve done a few things right, because for a 19-year old (soon to be 20-year old)…she does seem wise beyond her years…and like her Mom (who is not wise beyond her years), she is quite the savvy packer :)…2 cars, Not quite packed to the gils like last year, and we did not look like the Grapes of Wrath!  And, based on the amount of clothes she brought with her, she still will be  fabulously and stylishly dressed, so all is right in the world.    Meredith is happy, so I  am happy (very, very sad she’s gone, but delighted she’s so happy).  And the icing on the cake is she has determined  she wants to do what I do for a living (yes, I know, whatever that is).  Of course when she saw this picture of us she said, “you’re hair too’s puffy”.  She’s right.  Again, wise beyond her years . 🙂

Life is short…hug your children.   They grow up and go to college, and it’s happens in an instant…before you realize it’s happening.  And children, hug your Mom and Dad…they deserve it.

Next week:  Fall Fashion Trends.

Have a great weekend and Go Bears! 🙂

and thank you Carol for reminding me that my Blog is one-year old!

xoxo,

T.

Related Posts:

https://dressedtoat.wordpress.com/2010/08/25/did-i-handle-myself-stylishly/

https://dressedtoat.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/what-does-a-girl-pack-for-college/

https://dressedtoat.wordpress.com/2011/07/22/jay-cutler-needs-a-life-coach/

12 Responses to “The nicest thing ever said to me…:)”

  1. Carol S. August 26, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    Oh, I love this blog. And I’m going to hug my son this morning on our way to senior year of high school. Sigh. Yay Mer, yes she is a smart lady if she knows you’ve got the answers.

    And…….HAPPY BIRTHDAY……DRESSED TO A T is ONE YEAR OLD!! Where’s the party hats, champagne, music (build me a buttercup)?! Let’s get this party started. It’s been a
    lovely year of blog posts Terry. Keep going!

  2. C August 26, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    🙂

  3. Phyllis August 26, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    While I’m not a mother, so I can’t totally relate to your feelings, I think my nieces and nephew consider to me a (sometimes) cool aunt. We are very close, and I’m happy to spend time with them doing fabulous things and enjoying special times.

    My oldest niece leaves for college today — a freshman. Like you have shared about Mer, I’m proud of the woman she’s become, and grateful that I’ve influenced just a small part of her life.

    Only you, TOB, would appreciate something she said to me while we were in NYC this past March (shopping for clothes). She was trying on this chic little dress (she’s 5’9″, size 2) that I suggested she look at….”Auntie Phyl, you’re the best…my boobs have never looked so good!”

    I think I’ve done my job 🙂

    • Dressed to a T September 2, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      Phyllis…I’m thinking of taking you with me shopping…Not sure if you can do the same for me.
      🙂

  4. Megan August 26, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    Happy birthday, blog! Wow, it’s been a year?! Great blog, especially liked the e-cards. Mer will do great, but you already know that!

    • Dressed to a T September 2, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      Yes, Mer Mer will do great! Me? not so sure! 🙂

  5. Lisa August 28, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    A whole year, congrats on a fabulously, whitty and on target blog! Loved this one and while I don’t have kids, I echo the words to tell your family and friends you love them and always do it with a hug. It is the most important thing to do, always!

    • Dressed to a T September 2, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

      Mrs. Sykes…I’ve missed the comments…you’ve come back strong! Thank you!! xoxo

  6. instantimpression September 6, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Aweee…and then they go and get married 🙂
    Love this blog and love the fact that she made that comment for others to hear. Many kids (or even adults) may love to hear moms advice but they don’t want to admit it to mom or anyone else.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jay Cutler needs a Life Coach…Part Deux! « DRESSED TO A T - September 9, 2011

    […] The nicest thing ever said to me…:) (dressedtoat.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

