The Lost Art of the Handwritten Note

28 Mar

The handwritten note… It’s a lost art, and such a treat to receive one.  Truly, with email, texts, instant messaging, Facebook, and cell phones, it’s a rare gift to receive a handwritten note.   My friend Stephanie sent me a beautiful note, hand-written, and it made such a lovely impression I decided to dedicate a blog to it!  I’ve kept her note in my purse (along with one from my Dad, that means the world to me), and it makes me smile each time I see it… Heck, I’ll probably ask that it be buried with me …but hopefully not for a very long time!

These are some notecards and stationery that I have either received, or own, and love them all… Pick note cards and stationary that reflect who you are, or chosen especially for the person you are writing the note to…not ones that are necessarily reflective of moi, as these denote. 🙂

Dempsey and Carroll:  The Simon Doonan Collection, with these snappy sayings:

$50 at TT Patton in Barrington (a truly Fabulous store specializing in the art of fine writing).

Dare to be Fabulous:

Shoe Girl: this was a poster, that I copied off the internet, and had note cards made from it:

Leopard Stationary – $10.95 – Papyrus

I received this in a birthday card, and was thrilled I found it in notecards, $16.95 at Papyrus

Simple with a twist…I love cupcakes, but hear “cupcakes are sooooo 2010”.  I mean, who knew (unless you are a regular reader of this blog, then you already hear it)?  What I do know is I adore these note cards…and would adore them even more with a “T”!  www.myexpression.com 10/$10.95

Kate Spade Note set – $10 at TJ Maxx.  I find fantastic  notecards, invitations and stationary here, and always at great prices.

I remember reading that Princess Diana used to write personal notes to people, all the time.  In fact, when she would arrive home from a dinner or engagement, she used to pen a personal note that very evening.  What a lovely legacy to leave and hopefully the recipients kept them.   Priceless. 🙂

Trust me, a hand written note, even on a napkin, will make a lovely impression on the recipient.  My friend Kathy and I were at a bar (I know, shocking), and she wrote me a note on a napkin that said, “The first one is on the house”…and I did one for her as well, and we both have kept those napkins!  And don’t ask what it means, for I’m not sure we even remember…what I do remember, is I have a keepsake, from a wonderful afternoon with a dear friend.    So order some note cards, stationary, or post it notes, and keep a supply of stamps on hand…next time you think of someone, put pen to paper, (or stick to parchment as my Uncle used to say), and make someone’s day!  

Happy Writing,

xoxo,

T.

And for everyone who comments on this blog, I will send You a hand-written note.  The first one is on the house.   🙂

PS – Many of my friends and family are great at writing beautiful hand-written notes.  Sadly, I lack in such social graces.  However, a new resolution for the year…let’s call it my post St. Patrick’s Day resolution, is to write more hand-written notes.  I will touch base mid year and let you know how it’s going. 🙂

18 Responses to “The Lost Art of the Handwritten Note”

  1. Carol S March 28, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    I “DO” like you! What a nice surprise email/blog on a Monday morning. I will make a point of this Terry, thanks for the inspiration. Have a wonderful week!

  2. Megan March 28, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    Is it ironic that you are bloggin about hand-written notes?? 😉 You know, my friend Rachel is still a huge supporter of the hand-written note and sends them to me to this day. They are a nice touch!

  3. Nancy March 28, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Loved this blog! I try to send handwritten notes but I often fail and go electronic when I run out of time. I’m going to do better now after reading this! I have boxes and boxes of notecards — I like to buy a box whenever I go to a museum (all roads lead to the gift shop!). It’s kind of like a special souvenir and I try and match certain special notecards with certain special people! Thx for this blog!

    • Dressed to a T March 30, 2011 at 6:32 am #

      NKO – buying museum notecards is far better than collecting thimbles! Love it. 🙂

  4. Gina March 28, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    Love handwritten notes and I save all of those that I get.

    Love the blog … it’s a great reminder how important it is!

    • Dressed to a T March 30, 2011 at 6:32 am #

      And thank you for sharing this with all your fans… I’ve had record number views since you reposted it. xoxo

  5. Louise March 28, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Love the irony . . .and love the message! Truer words and all that . . .

    • Dressed to a T March 30, 2011 at 6:33 am #

      Thanks LAP! I’m taking this message to heart. 🙂

  6. Lisa Sykes March 28, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    I live by the hand written note and always remember to get my thank yous out in a timely manner because it is good manners. Great blog, T!

    • Dressed to a T March 30, 2011 at 6:34 am #

      You are the best at thank you notes…Bar None…and always timely. I think I will surprise my commenters this week, as well. :

  7. Stephanie March 29, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    How easy it is to send a hand written note to a dear friend or even a stranger to make their day….or their blog!
    xo

    • Dressed to a T March 30, 2011 at 6:34 am #

      Stephanie – I’m sure there’s an ecard for this! xoxo

  8. Theresa March 29, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Hi T,
    I’m T also and I love this post. I have a stationery fetish. Really bad! But selfishly….I’m just trying to get something handwritten in the mail. 😉 Thanks…

    • Dressed to a T March 30, 2011 at 6:35 am #

      Hey T – I love your store…and how wonderful that your staionery fetish has turned into a wonderful business, that we can all enjoy! Thanks for commenting.
      T. (the other one)
      🙂

  9. Nancy January 22, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    I have spent many Saturday mornings writing handwritten notes to family and friends. The time goes quickly and the notes really don’t take long to compose. I even use sealing wax — although I burned a card with the hot wax one time! Had to write it over.

    I loved Margaret Shepard’s book — what inspiration.

    I’m looking forward to reading, “365 Thank Yous” by John Kralik.

    I’ve created an outlet for my passion for photography and sell note cards of my images. If you are interested in browsing, the web address is: http://www.WhiteOakPhotos.etsy.com.

  10. Tulsi April 10, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    This is really great! I’m happy I found your blog. 🙂 I especially love the part about notes on napkins. My friend wrote me one of those once as well and I still have it! I love, love, love handwritten notes. So much so, that I actually just started a project in an attempt to help people remember and reclaim the lost art. Please feel free to check out my project’s site sometime and let me know what you think! http://lovelyhandwrittennotes.tumblr.com/

    Keep writing!

    • Dressed to a T April 14, 2012 at 6:37 am #

      Hi Tulsi – I checked out your blog, and love, love, love it! I’m a follower!
      Thanks!!

  11. Erin O'Brien May 16, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    I am a sucker for beautiful stationery! I seem to be the only one of my close friends who loves to collect/send it, though. I am in search of a beautiful set for my sister-in-law, and your post has convinced me to stop by TJ Maxx on my way home from work tonight!

Leave a Reply

