86% of women lie about hiding their shoe purchases. :)

25 Mar

The headline read,  Breaking news…”14% of women hide their shoe purchases”… what is better than this is the comment from a reader that read,  Breaking news…”86% of women lie about hiding their shoe purchases”.  🙂

I am reprinting this article from the Chicago Tribune, because it’s timely, it’s fashion-related, and it is so true.  I have edited a portion of it.  I am also concerned that not enough people read it, and since I now have over 5000 Lifetime Views on my blog (Yippee), I thought this was a great venue to get this fabulous article more exposure… well, at least 70 views today.   Plus, I agree…many more than 14% of women lie about this…And I must admit,  I am part of this crowd.  Having Kevin work in San Francisco does have its advantages. 🙂

Line up seven women, and at least one likely has a covert pair of shoes she bought but didn’t tell her significant other about because they cost so much. (Or if you are Terry O’Brien, perhaps 99 pairs)

But oh, shoe shopping certainly makes many women happier. The average American woman owns at least 17 pairs of shoes, though many women have three times that many. (Or if you are Terry O’Brien, perhaps 6x that amount).

Such are a few of the shoe insights that  ShopSmart  magazine found in their survey of 1,009 American women, offering something of a window into the female mind, or at least their credit card statements.

“Shoes are like boys and chocolate, you see a pair somewhere that you like, and you can’t stop thinking about them,” said Sharon Britton of Tampa, Fla., while opening her closet and guessing she may have three times the average of 17. That puts her in the top 13 percent of shoe fans.

“Shoes never make your butt look big, you don’t have to worry about squeezing into them if you’ve put on a couple of pounds, and they can instantly make you feel sexier,” said Lisa Lee Freeman, editor-in-chief of ShopSmart, published by the parent organization of Consumer Reports. “Maybe that’s why, despite the economy, we’re still buying shoes.”  (I do believe I blogged about this 2 weeks ago!  Perhaps I was the inspiration for this article! 😉 )

Some other shoe insights from ShopSmart:

– Over half of women own more than 10 pairs, and 13 percent have more than 30 pairs. That’s not including athletic shoes.  (I  must have 60 pairs of black shoes, alone…and I’m underestimating that, lest you judge me).

– Women typically buy three pairs a year, and on average spend $49 per pair, but, nearly one-third have spent more than $100 on a single pair. (I almost always buy my shoes on sale, and buy way more than 3 pairs annually…I mean, Really!)

– Almost unheard of even five years ago, online shoe shopping is now a “national obsession,” with a third of women regular online shoe buyers. Zappos.com, for instance, says some of their top customers “spend well over $10,000 annually.”  (I rarely go into a shoe store to buy shoes…almost all of it is online.  Ask nordstrom.com).

– About one in five women go shoe shopping just to cheer themselves up.  (And everyone asks why I’m always happy?)

–While 86 percent of women say they tell their significant other about shoe purchases, 14 percent admit to “hiding at least one purchase.” (Yes, Yes, and Yes…again, having Kevin work in San Francisco Does has its advantages).

As for the kinds of shoes women are buying, most prefer low-rises, but occasionally go for height. Almost 40 percent say flats are their favorite, 8 percent wear heels over 2 1/2 inch high on regular basis, and one-quarter of women wear 4-inch heels for a special occasion. (The older I get, the higher my heels).

About half of women bought an “ugly” pair for comfort, but more women lately are willing to withstand pain for fashion — 60 percent vs. 49 percent in 2007, and 6 in 10 women carry a backup pair to change into after a party or event. (I agree…fashion over function).

That fashion can inflict a physical price too.  (Moleskin and Footpetals are best sellers for a really good reason).

About half of women have shoe related blisters, sprains or even broken bones, and one in three had “an evening ruined by an uncomfortable pair of shoes” and one in four said they’ve had a fall.  (I’ve done all of the above).

Source:  Chicago Tribune

Shoes are the new cupcakes…very trendy, all the rage, very 2011 (unlike cupcakes which, according to Meredith, are very 2010).  The fact that the Chicago Tribune has articles about shoes makes me giddy.  I feel that Journalism is finally “getting it”…and we no longer have to read about Charlie Sheen and ‘Duh Winning’…but about Shoes!  And That’s what I call a good day. 🙂

I have a bet with my “boss”, and he will shortly be buying me these Christian Louboutin’s, Retail $750…but who cares, since I’m not paying…and don’t have to smuggle them in the house!  Oh Happy Day! 🙂

xoxo,

T.

9 Responses to “86% of women lie about hiding their shoe purchases. :)”

  1. Gina March 25, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    ohhhh…speaking of shoes. These have been in my shopping bag for a few days.
    http://shop.nordstrom.com/s/auri-jude-platform-slingback/3147778?origin=keywordsearch&resultback=0

    as have these…
    http://shop.nordstrom.com/s/bp-aiden-oxford-flat/3145275?origin=keywordsearch&resultback=0

    What do you think of the oxford style that’s all over. I am not big into flats but I kind of like them.

    • Dressed to a T March 25, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

      The Auri shoes are adorable, but I wonderful how comfortable they’d be…they’d be super cute with a pair of capris or jeans. I am not a huge fan of those oxford shoes, but the ones you picked are cute. with a pair of bermuda shorts, and great top, could be a sharp outfit…or a pair of crisp white pants. 🙂

  2. Megan March 26, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Fun post again, as usual! I have to know what the bet is…

    • Dressed to a T March 28, 2011 at 6:33 am #

      Meg, the bet is Well worth those $795 shoes…and trust me, I’m not going to lose. 🙂

  3. Lisa Sykes March 26, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Shoes are the new cupcakes…….who knew. I exceed all of the averages, because shoes are a girl’s best friend!

  4. Carol S March 27, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    I’m in the minority here…probably under 20 pairs of shoes and boots. One downside is I don’t always have a good shoe look going on. But, those two links Gina showed are very cute, and I like the oxfords! I’m way more into function than fashion, so the shoes have got to be comforable for me. Nothing like my Privo’s!! http://shop.nordstrom.com/s/privo-bingle-slip-on/3090999?origin=category&resultback=0

    • Dressed to a T March 28, 2011 at 6:32 am #

      Carol, correct there is Nothing like Privo’s…but perhaps we can look for something that embodies Fashion And Function! Note to file…never show Carol my closet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

