Black Friday!

25 Nov

Shopping is a woman thing.  It’s a contact sport like football.  Women enjoy the scrimmage, the noisy crowds, the danger of being trampled to death, and the ecstasy of the purchase.  ~Erma Bombeck

As readers of my blog can attest, I don’t partake in Black Friday.  I do not like crowds, prefer not to wake at 2AM the day after Thanksgiving, really enjoy internet shopping, and quite frankly, I value my life…That being said, many people do, so a friend shared a Black Friday website, with tips from “Brad”, and I thought I’d share these with my blogging followers.  Now, these tips are not from me, I’m just pirating them…but will add a few visual aids, as well as my comments, for your pleasure! 🙂

My comments are in bold following each tip.

Brad’s Top 10 Tips for Black Friday Sales

  1. Research: start your Black Friday 2010 sale research on Thanksgiving day or earlier.  Of course, would have been nice if this blog appeared on Wednesday. 🙂
  2. Make a plan: identify what you want to buy, which stores have the best sales on Black Friday, and what time they open.  Make lists…I live by my lists (and fashion journals) .
  3. Timing is everything: arrange stores by opening time from early to late.  I think Kohl’s opening at 3AM is kooky!  I have provided a list of Black Friday Store Hours at the end of my blog.
  4. A fool and his money: be wary of Black Friday deals with quantity limits. If a store only has 10 items at that price, go elsewhere.  Sage advice, as you don’t want to take down all in your path!  To help with hands-free shopping, remember your cross-body purse, as previously mentioned in my It’s all in the Bag blog!
  5. Visualize: know where your items are in the store.  Kinda tough – if you ask for a map before hand, store security may think you are going to rob them.
  6. Stay Safe: Previous Black Friday sales were honestly deadly; please don’t trample or shoot anyone!  I acquiesce to this!  This is good advice for any aspect of your life.  Truly!
  7. Power of numbers: go with a team and attack separate stores or separate sections of the same store. Designate a meeting place.  Plus, you have your peeps with you to enjoy a cup of coffee, or a glass of wine. 🙂  I, however, do Much better shopping alone.  I find it more efficient, but I see “Brad’s” point…safety in numbers, and maybe your friends can help carry your bags! 🙂
  8. Bring a snack: only amateurs stop at the food court on Black Friday! (Or the bathroom – so go before you leave.)  I say a stop at Starbuck’s is a must…and there is really nothing healthy, ever, at a food court, so pack some crackers, a banana, and nuts, and you are good to go. Also, a bottle of water, so you don’t have to spend $2 on it at the mall.  As far as going to the bathroom before you leave, when nature calls, not much you can do.  Especially after your stop at Starbuck’s.  
  9. The quiet ones: don’t ignore stores that don’t advertise. They will have Black Friday deals too!!  Check online for these, and don’t forget to use your coupons from our favorite coupon websites!

retailmenot.com

Froogle.com

Smartbargains.com

Overstock.com

Coupon.com

Couponcabin.com

bluefly.com

Coolsavings.com

couponmom.com

      10.   Have fun: enjoy your family, friends and deals!  Isn’t enjoying your family during the Holidays an      oxymoron?  Kidding…it’s my favorite time of the year.  Black Friday shopping or not.

My friend Nancy says:    If you plan and shop effectively with the appropriate targeted “attack”, you can be finished and having a glass of wine with lunch!  To avoid the lunch crowds, consider the Nordstrom café – a forgotten gem!  If there is one at your mall.

In moderation, of course. 🙂

In addition, as Nancy lives for Black Friday shopping:    “PARKING!!!  From my experience, if your mall has car valets, use them…. The best $5-$10 you will spend all day.  They are just great, fast and usually will retrieve your car so you can pack it up with a load of purchases and then go back to the mall for round 2!  And one year the car valet returned (without my car) to tell me that I had a flat tire and asked permission to put on my spare.  Naturally I said yes and he was back in 20 minutes…. Nice young man who saved the day for me and it was well worth the extra $20 tip for him!”

Hope everyone has a Fabulous Thanksgiving, and Happy Shopping to those who dare.

xoxo

Terry

Buying something on sale is a very special feeling.  In fact, the less I pay for something, the more it is worth to me.  I have a dress that I paid so little for that I am afraid to wear it.  I could spill something on it, and then how would I replace it for that amount of money?  ~Rita Rudner

Black Friday 2010 Store Hours

Store  Thanksgiving Hours*  Black Friday Hours 
Ace Hardware   7am
Babies R Us   5am
Best Buy   5am
Costco   9am
Gander Mountain 9am 6am-10pm
Home Depot   6am
JCPenney   4am-11pm
Kmart 6am-9pm 5am-11pm
Kohl’s   3am
Lowe’s   6am
Macy’s   4am
Meijer 6am-12am 5am
OfficeMax 7am 7am
Old Navy 9am (select locations) 12am
Radio Shack 10am 5:30am
Sears 7am-Noon 4am
Sports Authority   5am-9:30pm
Staples   6am
Target   4am
Toys R Us 10pm 12am
Walgreen’s 9am 7am
Walmart   12:01am and Electronics at 5am
6 Responses to “Black Friday!”

  1. Nancy November 25, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Loved it, loved it, loved it! Can’t wait to hit the stores tomorrow! Good Luck with Black Friday shopping to all!

  2. Carol S. November 25, 2010 at 10:35 am #

    What are we all shopping for??? Thanks for the tips, but I’m with you Terry. Online is the way to go. Happy Thanksgiving! (love the crowd storming the store and the guy saying we lost Rob)

  3. Lisa Sykes November 25, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Who needs the internet or the papers to get the skinny on Black Friday when we have T! As a converted Black Friday shopper, I go early, get it done, have my Starbucks then my wine at Nordstrom Cafe and am home by 2pm! Couldn’t be a better day with T’s and my friend Nancy! 🙂

    It’s over the river and through the woods to Le Le’s house we go for turkey and pumpkin pie…….Happy Thanksgiving to all!

Leave a Reply

