Bears Ballyhoo

26 Oct

It seems all of Chicago is talking about the Chicago Bears and their “unstylish” play on Sunday against the Washington Redskins.  I was at the game, and I must say, it wasn’t their finest game…may have been one of the worst I have Ever seen.  So, in keeping with the theme of the week, I thought I’d add an extra blog about some of my adventures (or misadventures) while attending the Bears games.  They may not always play well, but I always have some good stories to share.

As many have come to realize, it’s no secret that I’m a Chicago Bears fan.  Even when they are playing lousy, I’m still a fan. ( And on a brief baseball note, people Always ask me…Are you a Cubs fan, or a White Sox fan…and I always respond…I root for chicago, but angle towards the Cubs).  Back to the Bears…I may not like the way they’re playing, but I do try to look on the bright side of things…and the bright side of things will be some of the shenanigans that have occurred this year.

1.  While attending the game with Patrick and 2 friends, one of my friends got 2 bags of Popcorn, the combo caramel/cheese kind, from Nuts on Clark.  To be shared by 4 of us.  The bag was Dripping in grease.  Loved it.  My friend (let’s call her “Carla”)  was indulging a bit (her words) , and the guy behind us (who was rather unbecoming and a jerk) told her, “You’re eating that popcorn like you’re on your way to the chair”.  She asked, “electrical chair?”, and he said, “Yup”.  She was not happy and told me that was a “life-changing comment”. 😦  Good news is we still had a blast.  Bad news is the Bears lost.

2. While waiting in line to get the bus to our parking garage, the “gentleman” behind me commented on my cheetah-print flats, which was paired with my boyfriend-ripped jeans, my Bears studded t-shirt (from my friend Cathy), white t-shirt underneath, and Kate Spade backpack.  He was giving me a hard time re: my choice of footwear.  (He probably should have commented on my poor choice of jeans…as women my age shouldn’t be wearing “boyfriend-ripped jeans).    We bantered a bit (he may have been over served, I was not).  He argued that I haven’t been to near as many games as he has.  I told him I’ve been a season ticket holder for 10+ years, then may have boasted about my 1st row seats  (not My finest hour)… and he said, and this will be plastered on my tombstone, “What are you, all of 32?”.  Good news he thought I was 32.  Bad news the Bears Lost.  Excellent Day! 🙂

3.  Pam Oliver is a Fox Sportscaster, and has my dream job.  She’s beautiful, intelligent, well-spoken, knows the game, but, I must say, she is  the Worst Dresser.  Now, we know I’m not into dissing what others wear, but when the guys Behind me are commenting on her “b**t” (their term was more crass), ill-fitting jeans (and they were actually grey), and poor choice of jacket, then it’s a problem.  A big problem.   The outfit didn’t fit, and was unattractive.  Perhaps she didn’t realize she’d be on TV?    She needs to comment on the game, not allow her appearance to become part of the sport (or unsportsmanlike conduct) .  She must make decent money, and my suggestion is she needs a stylist.   A good one.

4.  I guess I have a resemblance to Trisha Yearwood.  I don’t see it, but apparently many people do.  Three times at Bears games, I have been asked for my autograph…The first time, I was sitting in my seat, and a guy came down, kneeled down next to me in the aisle, and said, “My wife is a Huge fan…can I have your autograph”.  I smiled, and shook my head No.  I wasn’t sure what was happening, and thought maybe someone was playing a joke on me.  He never said anything about Trisha Yearwood.  When he left, I heard the people behind me say, “that’s Trisha Yearwood”…and the other guy said, “No, it’s the girl from Wings”.  I am neither.  2 weeks ago, when heading up the stairs to the restroom, a woman grabbed my arm, smiled and said, “OMG…you’re Trisha Yearwood”…Nope.    You get the idea…this is a picture of Trisha Yearwood…and in trying to show myself in the best possible light  (as most 32-year olds do 🙂 ), I did choose the best picture of her I could find through google, and one in which she looks “thin”.

5.  My last point is restroom Etiquette at Soldier Field.  This happened last December in one of those 15 degree days…a bathroom attendant thought it a good idea to have all the women come INTO the bathroom, squeeze in, and not have to form a line out of the door.  She thought 2 lines would do the trick.  The only problem is one side has 10 stalls, the other had 4…so , the people on the left were moving more than twice as quick as the line on the left…and the people coming into the door, were taking the stalls near the open door.  The women waiting in line were NOT happy…So, I took matters into my own hands, approached the bathroom attendant, congratulated her for thinking “outside the box” (I don’t like that term, but it works here ), and told her I was with the Bears organization and had been called to investigate the problem with this bathroom.  While we appreciate the initiative, it clearly is not working.    She acquiesced to me, and allowed women to wait in line like we have done for years.  The women in the restroom were giving me high-fives and a whole lot of “atta girls”…Good news is the women were able to take care of business.  The bad news is the Bears did not.  They lost.

6. Actually, there are indeed 6… after the Bears lost to the Redskins on Sunday (boo)… Cutler appeared at the post game press conference.  He was wearing a cowboy-style plaid shirt (not His finest choice).  The announcer said, “I guess he didn’t realize he’d have to speak at the post game conference, based on his choice of shirt”.  See…everyone notices what everyone else is wearing!

“When his wife asked him to change clothes to meet the German Ambassador: If they want to see me, here I am. If they want to see my clothes, open my closet and show them my suits.”
Albert Einstein

I guess Cutler is on to something.  Though he does clean up pretty well. 🙂

And, as always…Go Bears!

xo

T.

6 Responses to “Bears Ballyhoo”

  1. Carol S. October 26, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    Poor Carla! Fun shenanigans Terry. I agree about the stylist for Pam Oliver. She’d pay back the investment with smart purchases and a better look. I’m just glad the rest of us have you for advice. Take care Trisha!

  2. Lisa Sykes October 26, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    You can’t make this stuff up…..I wouldn’t even know where to begin. It can only happent to you Trisha!

  3. Nancy October 27, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Yes, I agree about Pam Oliver — you should contact Fox Sports and offer to be her stylist….. From there I see you being Stylist to the Stars with a TV contract, books, your own line of ready to wear fashion as well as haute couture. Think about it!

Leave a Reply

